Thursday, September 20, 2012

GDB #1 vs Kootenay

Oil Kings (0 0-0-0-0) vs Ice (0 0-0-0-0)

The Oil Kings open up the 2012-2013 season at home tonight against the Kootenay Ice.  The matchup is a rematch of the first round of the playoffs from last spring.  The game features the last two WHL Champions going head to head as well.  Tonight is the first time the two clubs open the season playing each other since the Oil Kings very first game in 2007.  The Kings won in dramatic fashion on JP Szaszkiewicz's last second goal.  

Photo: Andy Devlin/Edmonton Oil Kings 
It will be a special night at Rexall Place as the Kings will celebrate last year's championship one last time, raising another banner to the rafters.  It will be the first league championship banner at Rexall since the 1989-1990 Stanley Cup banner was raised.  With the NHL lockout in full effect, 'The Other Oil in Town' become the Only Oil in Town (for now).

Last Year: The Oil Kings owned the Ice last year winning all six regular season matchups.  They also swept Kootenay in the first round of the playoffs.

The Opposition:  The Ice enter an unfamiliar phase of their franchise history, becoming a young rebuilding club after a very strong run in Cranbrook.  They have made the playoffs for the last 14 years and have been to three Memorial Cups, winning one.  They feature nine 17 year olds, and a pair of 16 year olds on their roster.  Gone are severl veterans, including goaltender Nathan Lieuwen, forwards Max Reinhart, Jesse Ismond, Joe Antilla, Dylen McKinlay and defencemen Luke Paulsen, and John Neibrandt. 

Photo: Andy Devlin/Edmonton Oil Kings 
Leaders: (11-12)

Goals- EDM- Michael St. Croix (45)
KTN- Max Reinhart, Sam Reinhart (28)

Points- EDM- St. Croix (105)
KTN- Max Reinhart (78)

Wins- EDM- Laurent Brossoit (42)
KTN-Nathan Lieuwen (27)

PIMS- EDM- Keegan Lowe (139)
KTN- Jesse Ismond (105)


EDM- Keegan Lowe- Carolina Hurricanes (3rd, 2011), Travis Ewanyk- Edmonton Oilers (3rd, 2011), Michael St. Croix- New York Rangers (4th, 2011), Martin Gernat- Oilers (5th, 2011), Laurent Brossoit- Calgary Flames (6th, 2011), Griffin Reinhart- New York Islanders (1st, 2012), Henrik Samuelsson- Phoenix Coyotes (1st, 2012), Mitch Moroz- Oilers (2nd, 2012).

KTN- Drew Czerwonka- Oilers (6th, 2010, unsigned), Joey Leach- Flames (3rd 2010, unsigned).

Injury Report:

EDM: #11 Dylan Wruck, Upper body, week to week
#28 Martin Gernat, upper body, TBD

KTN: #16 Petr Vesely, lower body, day-to-day 
#19 Drew Czerwonka, upper body, 2-3 weeks 
#18 Jordyn Boyd, upper body, day-to-day

Photo: Andy Devlin/Edmonton Oil Kings 
Notes: This is the first of six meetings between the two clubs this year. Pregame show at 6:40, the puck drops at 7:20 on the Team 1260.