Wednesday, October 2, 2013

GDB #5

 Oil Kings(2-2-0-0)@ Brandon(2-2-0-0)

The Oil Kings hit the road for the first time this season as they face the Wheat Kings in Brandon.  Edmonton was beaten last time out, falling 5-3 to the Hurricanes.  Lethbridge was trailing 2-1 in the third before scoring three goals in 42 seconds to snap a ten game losing streak at Rexall Place.  Mitch Moroz led the way with a pair of goals for the Kings, while Henrik Samuelsson and Aaron Irving had a pair of helpers. 

Curtis Lazar will be in the lineup for the first time tonight after he was sent back by the Ottawa Senators.  Edmonton will not have Reid Petryk tonight.  Petryk, acquired yesterday, from the Everett Silvertips will meet the team tomorrow in Saskatoon.

The Wheat Kings lost back to back games over the weekend in Prince Albert.  The setbacks evened their record on the season to 2-2-0-0.  Tonight will be their second home game of the year.  Their captain, New York Islanders first round pick, Ryan Pulock will make his season debut after being re-assigned on Monday.

Photo: Andy Devlin/Edmonton Oil Kings


The Oil Kings beat the Wheat Kings all four times last season, and have a 13-11-0-0 all time record against the Wheaties.  Brandon finished last in the East last season, with 56 points.  They have five Edmonton area players on their roster (Nick Walters- Spruce Grove, Taylor Cooper- Sherwood Park, John Quennville, Jordan Papirny, and Curtis Honey- Edmonton).

Team Leaders:

Edm- Cody Corbett (4)
Bdn- Richard Nejezchelb (3)

Edm- Henrik Samuelsson (9)
Bdn- Eric Roy (8)

Edm- Tristan Jarry (2)
Bdn- Curtis Honey (2)

Edm- Brandon Baddock, Mitch Moroz (15)
Bdn- Nick Walters, Kord Pankewicz (9)

Photo: Andy Devlin/Edmonton Oil Kings

Up Next: The Oil Kings continue their road trip on Friday night in Prince Albert.  They finish the trip Saturday in Saskatoon.  The Wheaties are opening a five game home stand tonight.  They face the Vancouver Giants on Friday.

Edm: Griffin Reinhart- New York Islanders (1st, 2012), Henrik Samuelsson- Phoenix Coyotes (1st, 2012), Mitch Moroz- Oilers (2nd, 2012), Curtis Lazar- Ottawa Senators (1st, 2013), Tristan Jarry- Pittsburgh Penguins (2nd, 2013).

Bdn:  Nick Walters- St. Louis Blues (4th, 2012), Ryan Pulock- Islanders (1st, 2013), Eric Roy- Calgary Flames (5th, 2013).

Injury Report:

EDM:  #15 Andrew Koep, lower body, week to week
           #17 Brandon Ralph, upper body, day to day
           #20 Mads Eller, upper body, day to day

BDN:  None

Photo: Andy Devlin/Edmonton Oil Kings

Draft Watch- NHL Central Scouting Preliminary List
'A' Skaters-
'B' Skaters- Jayce Hawryluk (Bdn)
'C' Skaters- Dysin Mayo (Edm)

Roster Notes: Oil Kings captain Griffin Reinhart has made the Islanders open day roster.  Curtis Lazar will wear the 'C' during Reinhart's absence.  Reid Petryk will wear #18 in his Oil Kings debut on Friday.

League Notes:  The Winnipeg Jets have signed Hurricanes forward Axel Blomqvist to an entry level contract.  The CHL has named Spokane Chief Mitch Holmberg as the CHL Player of the Week.